Couple of days ago a drummer friend of mine asked for some help with setting up an I/O sound card for his home studio.

Said sound card was the Focuswrite Saffire Pro10

My friend who studies as a recording studio engineer had set up the box to his Windows PC via firewire and had done geat work installing all his 8 mics to his drum set.

What was needed from me was to hook up the audio outputs to his amplifier setup and most importantly, tinker his Cubase 5 installation to interface the sound card.

A couple of hours latter we had a great working system. Now, I never counted myself as having sound engineering expertise, but it’s great to know that after all those years, my all-things-computer common sense and sound systems knowledge enabled me to make this work flawlessly.

I rock!

Nick =)